Sunday, July 31, 2011

Outfit experiment

I’m not much for clothing – either the purchase or the manufacture. I am seriously envious of people who can do things with cloth, however. At one point while I was growing up, I actually wanted to be a clothing designer. In a nine year old’s mind, it didn’t seem too hard. After all, Gloria Vanderbilt’s designer jeans looked suspiciously like regular jeans, only with her autograph embroidered on the back pocket, and a large price tag to go along with the privilege of having her autograph on your butt.

Alas, I discovered that designing takes talent and lots and lots of skill and training. Being the lazy sort, plus having to deal with a high school home economics teacher I could not stand, killed that ambition.

It did not end my fascination with design. Most of the way through high school, I had a couple of Wonder Woman coloring books, some tracing paper, and colored pencils. During rare down times, I would trace Wonder Woman’s figure, and create costumes for characters in stories I was writing. Since I was never much of an artist, these designs were pretty lackluster, because I could not translate what I saw in my mind’s eye onto paper.

As an (alleged) adult, I still occasionally have wild ideas of something that would look cool, but no way to execute the outfit, either by drawing or by making the outfit myself. It doesn’t keep me, however, from having fun with a little cloth, or even, in this case, a piece of clothing.

I belong to a doll club called the OCD, which is short for Obsessively Collecting Dolls. There is nothing in life finer, I say, than getting together with other “chronics” and showing off. I have really learned to love fellow doll collectors in my time, because we mostly, if not as a whole, are generous, enthusiastic folks.

One generous soul (among many!) in the OCD is a fellow collector named Wil. He has impeccable taste in dolls, and collects a great variety of them. At our last meeting, he had a skirt that did not fit in his glamour gals. Since everyone knows I have been more avid collecting dolls than outfits, he asked if I would like this skirt, which was meant for one of the big girls. I presumed he meant Tonner’s American Models, so I said sure, since my lone American Model has one dress and the teddy she came with.

When I got home, however, I realized I had made something of a mistake, because I did not have a blouse to go along with the skirt, and sometimes, finding other clothing pieces for American Models can be not only tricky, but pricey as well.

I then wondered if there was some way I could use this skirt on my regular Tonner sized girls. Since I had just bought a doll from one of the other members of the club, and given the dress sold with her to another of my dolls, I wondered if I could make something of this skirt for my new, and now naked, doll.

It helps that I already decided on something of a personality for this girl – she looks, to me, like she might be a wild rocker chick of the Joan Jett mold, at least in personality. So I took the skirt, and tried to fasten it around her bosom. It was just a touch too short, but I always say that a safety pin is a doll’s best friend.

It actually turned out interesting, in that it looks like a baby doll dress. I will probably need to have someone help me style it a little bit, but it goes well with this girl’s perceived untamed personality.
Good girls go to Heaven. Bad girls go Everywhere!

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

I Survived Comic Con 2011

Sunday on lineComic Con 2011 ended on Sunday. A good time was had by all, including Integrity Toy's Endless Summer Poppy Parker and Tonner Doll's Captain Jack Harkness. Poppy had a fantastic time on her first trip to Comic Con. She attended panels to hear about her favorite shows and see her favorite actors, she cruised the Exhibition Hall looking for exclusives that she knew she couldn't live without, and she participated in that time honored tradition of waiting in line for what seemed like eons. Here Poppy poses with her iconic Comic Con/Warner Bros. swag bag that she acquired from a Comic Con exclusive Gizmo gremlin and her DeadFast swag that she acquired from Comic Con exclusive Ghoulia Yelps.

Capt Jack, Capt Jack, and Capt John HartCaptain Jack Harkness only attended the convention on Friday as he wanted to see his own panel, Torchwood. He felt that one day of standing in line was all he needed. He was extremely pleased to see that other attendees liked to dress up like him.

Please visit my flickr to see all my photos from 2011 SDCC (Comic Con).

Dark Phoenix available from TonnerDirect

Photo property of Tonner Doll Company.
Save the date! TonnerDirect will be selling the excess of the limited edition 150 piece Dark Phoenix doll beginning Friday, July 29, 2011. This doll was the San Diego Comic Con exclusive doll, and the sale is for the remaining dolls from the convention. 

Her retail price is $187.50, but with the promotional code SDCC2011, you can save 20% and enjoy free shipping (my guess is the free shipping applies to US orders only).

The doll will ship the third week in August.


Temptation Vanessa by alington
Temptation Vanessa, a photo by alington on Flickr.
This is Temptation Vanessa, a long-time (well, a year--I guess that's a long time in doll collecting) wish list doll of mine when I missed out on the Dazzle collection in 2010. I just adore her.

I received her in trade from a doll-friend of mine--and I am thrilled. She was never-removed-from-box, and she's just perfect.

I love her Bump-It hair style. It seems I have a tendency to love this type of doll. I have a wig for Barbie in a similar style. I love 60s era beehives. If I had longer hair, I'd try to do it myself.

Just kidding!

Tatyana in Randall Craig

The Red Queen by alington
The Red Queen, a photo by alington on Flickr.
The Red Queen was getting a little bored in her outfit, and the Queen Bee does not like to wait.

This is the IFDC convention doll from 2010. I've taken down her hair and straightened it slightly. The hair is pretty thick, and wow--what a red! Like Red Rabbit Misaki! I love it.

She's dressed in Randall Craig's "I Know A Place" (still in stock at Windy City) with a replacement belt from a Barbie Basics accessory pack. Her over-the-top earrings are by Tonner Doll Company. Even with the jewels, she still isn't pleased.

See more photos of this dramatic lady on Flickr.

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

2011 Barbie Convention Exclusives from Randall Craig

Fashion 5 with dark vintage fur
Includes vintage fur, earrings, clutch and black CT shoes
Randall Craig has six new fashions made exclusively for the Barbie Convention being held in Fort Lauderdale, FL, from July 27th through July 30th. This year's convention is entitled, "Barbie and Ken: Spring Break 1961" and celebrates Ken's 50th Anniversary. Randall's inspiration for this collection came from right in his own backyard, sunny southern Florida. His love of classic couture enabled him to create fashions appropriate for celebrating Ken's big day on Florida's Atlantic coast. All fashions, with the exception of the pantsuit, are designed to fit Poppy, Model Muse, Monograms, and Silkstones. Unfortunately the pants of the pantsuit are too long for Poppy, but fit the taller girls. The fur used with the teal dress is vintage fur and the fur color varies within the edition. Each fashion is an edition size of 50. Additionally, Randall has a few outfits from his IFDC collection and shoe packs available for sale at the Barbie Convention. Be sure to stop by his table in the sales room before his fashions sell out!  All photos courtesy of Kathie.

Fashion 4
Includes white closed toed shoes.
Fashion 1
Includes silver glitter closed toe shoes.
Fashion 3
Includes head band and white closed toed shoes.
Fashion 2
Includes jacket, hat, earring, clutch and cream CT shoes.
Fashion 6
Includes white close toed shoes.

Barbie Convention 2011

This year's National Barbie Doll Collector's Convention is being held in Ft. Lauderdale, Fl at the Harbor Beach Marriott resort. Convention activities do not officially begin until Wednesday, July 27th but room sales are in full swing. If you live in the Ft. Lauderdale/Miami area you can shop room sales without being registered for the convention now through Wednesday night. There will also be a public sales day on Saturday, July 30th. Room sales are located on floors 8-15 with the majority of sellers on floors 11 and 12. Stop by and see me in room 1130. I have lots of vintage pretties for sale.

Here is a doll I purchased while room shopping:  a OOAK mod Barbie doll by Arnaldo Cardova. She is a recreation of the prototype TNT Barbie that was never produced by Mattel. She is re-rooted with real vintage hair and has original TNT pink ribbons. Her lips and nails are repainted. Arnaldo also created this "Japanese exclusive" dress. Mod lace-up boots complete her look.

Ghoulia Yelps ComicCon Exclusive

ComicCon attendees were able to pick up the exclusive Ghoulia Yelps Monster High doll. I must say that I normally like to debox dolls, but these boxes are great! The black and white box is the outer box that the Ghoulia box fits into and each one comes with a little comic book (drawn by Ghoulia) that you can see pictured in front. Also included is a little Dead Fast action figure that Ghoulia can carry in her Comic Con bag. Too cute!

Tonner Tuesday specials

Save up to 40% off select items from 11 AM to 11 PM today, EDT from TonnerDirect, no promo code needed. Some of the specials include:

Monday, July 25, 2011

Happily Ever After's biting summer sale...

The Contessa - Forever and Ever
You know you vant vone...

Mina - Yours Forever
Happily Ever After is offering the current collection of Integrity Toys Vampire brides at a wonderful discount. Now is the time! (Oh my, am I tempted!)
You'd save $98 if you bought the entire set of Vampire brides! And if you wanted to add the count, Your savings would be $114!

Happily Ever After charges UPS, and their shipping rates are really fair. Plus, Ed and Glenn are just awesome. This sale might only be valid today, so don't waste your time!
Lucy - Eternally Together

Sunday, July 24, 2011

Rock Candy Rufus Blue and Downtown Darling Jett on eBay!

Rock Candy Rufus Blue
Only one hour left on these fun auctions - $66 for Downtown Darling Jett and just over $77 for Rock Candy Rufus Blue at the time of this post!

These are gorgeous dolls, and it's your chance to pick them up at a good price and support us here at the Fashion Doll Review. The auctions are bid-style, so go set your maximum bid--and good luck!

Saturday, July 23, 2011

New Holly Golightly from Integrity Toys

A new Integrity Toys line has been released, in conjunction with the re-release of the film Breakfast at Tiffany's by Paramount. The new stylized Holly Golightly doll is presented in a six different dressed dolls, all with slight variations of hair and eye color, in addition to facial screening. Extreme attention to detail and exact reproductions of the outfits (including lined clothing to prevent doll staining) went into this new line, which is available to pre-order from your favorite Integrity Toys dealer.

The dolls have a Poppy Parker-like body, which allows them to share clothes with Poppy, Misaki and the Dynamite Girls, only with a new "kitten heel" foot, without the articulated heel for better posing. All dolls stand 12" tall, with fully rooted hair and applied eyelashes, and include a stand and certificate of authenticity.

The doll sculpt is not supposed to be Audrey Hepburn, for you die-hard celebrity doll collectors out there. It is a Paramount-approved facial sculpt of Integrity's stylized version of Holly Golightly.

All photos are property of Integrity Toys, and I should state that they are promotional photos of the prototype dolls and subject to change. The dolls are scheduled to ship in the fourth quarter of this year, save one, which is yet to be announced--which should ship in September, the same month that the remastered Breakfast at Tiffany's film will be released. The dolls will be available for viewing at the Jet Set convention in October, as well.

First up is Fifth Avenue at 6 AM. Limited to 400, retail $125, the one thing that struck me most about this iconic look are the accessories. I'm a sucker for those. Check out the coffee cup and pearls! Because side seams are difficult to do in a small scale and lie flat, the dress has a back closure, but still maintains the original's  profile.

Crazy About Tiffany's is limited to 500 pieces, and retails at $125. This doll's hair is slightly lighter (with more rooted blonde). I'm most impressed by the embroidered miniature tassel fabric of her cocktail dress here. I can't wait to see it in person.

The next dressed doll is Holly as The Five and Ten, which follows the shoplifting scene in the movie. Her brown tweed dress is done in two pieces, and includes an orange overcoat, and cat mask. I love the purse included with this doll, limited to 350, retail $125.

How Do I Look? is the first of two gift sets presented in this collection. Retailing at $175, limited to 500, this set includes the white terrycloth wrap and the fringed black day dress. Additionally, two pairs of shoes, two amazing hats, two cigarette holders, and lots of jewelry is included in this gift set.

The next dressed doll is called A Girl I Know Named Holly. She retails for $89 and is limited to 500. She is shown in her sleep shirt and robe, plus her sleeping mask and tasseled ear plugs.

Finally, People Do Fall in Love is the last gift set, and it's limited to 300 pieces and retails $175. This adorable ponytailed doll (the hair does not have rooted ponytails, which will make it easier to remove them, if you are a restyler) shows Holly having to choose between money and true love. A tweed skirt, trench, headscarf, black blouse, sweater and black capris make up the fun pieces in this set. Very fun accessories as well: what impresses me most is the embroidered needlepoint luggage included in the set.

Fifth Avenue at 6 A.M.

Fifth Ave at 6 A.M.

Crazy About Tiffany's

Five and Dime

How Do I Look?

How Do I Look?

How Do I Look?

A Girl I Know Named Holly

People Do Fall in Love

People Do Fall in Love

Friday, July 22, 2011

Coming soon on FDR

A couple of articles you have to look forward to in the upcoming weeks:

  • San Diego Comic Con coverage
  • Sweeping Antoinette - a review (she's in the mail now!)
  • Poppy Parker Youthquake and Darla Daley Twist 'n Shout - do they live up to a Poppy Parker fan's expectations?
  • A shopping excursion to the UFDC
  • Doll Party with DollHeart in Glendale, Ca, co-hosted by Ms. Cholong and the Doll Peddlar
  • A recap of the Barbie convention in Florida
  • The PJ project
Do you have any other special requests? I have more photos from IFDC yet to upload, but my computer is currently in the shop. Sorry so slow on the photos!

Thursday, July 21, 2011

The search for Vanessa.

True Royalty Vanessa by alington
True Royalty Vanessa, a photo by alington on Flickr.
So... I want to know if this is just me, or if it's typical of other doll collectors. I go through these phases in which I become suddenly obsessed with a particular doll or two (or three). The current dolls-of-the-moment:
  • Mattel's Steffie sculpt (which you already know)
  • Poppy Parker
  • Vanessa Perrin
I know my followers have been suffering through my Steffie obsession for some time. Maybe you weren't aware of my slowly growing Poppy Parker collection. I'm not sure I have to have them all (fortunately--my friends and fellow Bloggers Valerie and Kathie have completed their collections to date at IFDC, and I'll be nagging them about a series of posts).

But Vanessa... well, I know a lot of collectors out there have a love/hate obsession with her. I'm not in love with all of them. There are a few I'll definitely need to add. Yes, I ordered the W Club exclusive. No, my True Royalty is not complete. Yes, I most definitely need more Vanessas. My most recent addition is Temptation Vanessa (photos soon!), otherwise known as Bump It Vanessa. I adore her.

What about you? Do you have a sculpt obsession? Who are they? Do they come and go, wax and wane?

What about this: If you have more than one, do the sculpts have anything in common? I happen to: the lips. I like great big pouty lips.

My next question... which Vanessa do you think I need the most? Besides Metal Maven?

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Announcement from Tonner Doll Company

I've heard this important announcement from several Tonner Doll dealers now, and thought I'd pass it along to you as well. It looks like an interesting new way to run a company, I think, and I'm excited about how this will work. Mark your calendars!
With our collector's ever-increasing reliance on the internet we realize a major shift in purchasing patterns has firmly taken hold. Collectors enjoy being able to obtain products they desire as fast as possible and without having time for reconsideration. Coupled with a year-round flow of product from our factories we have developed a new schedule of future product releases.
Tonner products will now debut on the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month on We will be forwarding the posting information such as photos, prices and descriptions to our retail partners the Mondays preceding each release so they may have sufficient time to add the information to their own websites. We ask that orders not be taken and that information regarding the release not be disseminated prior to the release. 
The first such release is scheduled for Wednesday, August 10th, so retailers will receive relevant information on Monday, August 8th.
Some new lines will need more detailed and complete introductions than most. When those lines are being introduced we will also be furnishing a line plan so collectors will grasp the breadth of a line since some purchasing decisions are based on "what's to come." In addition, some future lines will require that collectors understand the intent behind a line and will need to see more than several pieces. We will make those introductions as appropriately and thoroughly as possible.
We're excited for this opportunity to streamline not only our new product introductions, but to also help you streamline your business and revenue stream with a flow of new products that are in-stock at time of introduction on a continuous, year-round schedule. We hope this new release plan will be a benefit to all.

Thursday, July 14, 2011

Poppy Parker and Darla Daley @ the IFDC

Foto Fab by alington
Foto Fab, a photo by alington on Flickr.
Last, but definitely not least, is the 2011 Poppy Parker collection. I was delighted to see these girls, along with Poppy's new companion, Darla Daley, in person. Click here for the full photo album.

I'm using Foto Fab Poppy as my main photo, but I have one other as well. I'd heard about some concerns about her facial screening--it looks too pale in the promo shots or whatever. I had my concerns, too. After seeing her in person, I can confidently say I won't be selling mine. She has a little aqua liner on her lower lashes, and it's just enough. Her hair is a golden blonde, which is a great match for the make-up and outfit.

Perfectly Purple (below) is gorgeous brunette with similar facial screening to the 2010 line--dark eye liner and detailed eye lashes. In any case, whether you like her eccentric lavender plaid or think it's over the top, she's going to be fun to redress.

Youthquake Poppy is surprisingly minimalist. She's also delightful. Her facial screening is different in that she's missing her eye lashes. I thought that would bother me, but it definitely fits with her basic outfit, dark liner, and neutral eye shadow. Her hair is bright red and styled in a gorgeous Marlo flip.

Twist 'n Shout Darla is plain cute. Her hair is tighter than her promo photos as well, but it suits. I think her face is much softer, too--even her prominent nose. Both she and Youthquake have perfectly scaled fishnet tights, too, and their jumpers are fun.

Hit Single is the Darla I pre-ordered, and I wish I had better photos of her. Her hair really does it for me. Oh, I admit it. I love her outfit, too. The A-line minidress has a tiny printed stripe pattern that's just perfect.

Perfectly Purple Poppy Parker by Integrity Toys

Photography notes:
For some reason, Flickr has ignored all my color correction, and I'll have to fix my photos in Picnik. Everything looks too yellow and a bit green. Hopefully I can get these corrected, so you can have a better idea of what the colors really looked like. 
For those of you who are photography experts, please come to IFDC and use a flash next year! My photos always tend to look like crap with a flash. (I'm working on it.) And I admit it. I'm a bokeh addict. 

The Dynamite Girls (and Boys) @ IFDC

Summer Daze by alington
Summer Daze, a photo by alington on Flickr.
Fantastically detailed this year, the Dynamite Girls (and boys!) did not disappoint. Click here for the Flickr photo album.

Korean pop singer Kyu was a personal favorite (he's pictured above), and is part of the Checkmates collection. I can see another Auden mark-up in the making. Remi is pretty cute, too, though I'm not overly fond of the paint splotches on his jacket. (I'm probably just not couture enough.)

Both Aria and Jett appear twice in this year's collection--once each in Plastic Inevitable and Checkmates. Heart of Glass is a nice change for Aria with a darker hair color, and Heat Wave is a sweet blonde version. Jett as brunette Aqua Bella makes me sad I didn't pre-order this doll--she is super cute!--and the blonde 1980s inspired Downtown Darling is nicely done.

I shouldn't forget Rufus Blue--we've already heard how fantastic she is. Beach Bunny Sooki is cute with her raven braids.

Overall, even if you don't lean towards the DG girl line, this year may make you look twice. The quality is really good--the facial screenings are excellent and even less cartoony than last year's. I can't wait to see how this line progresses. I'd personally love to see larger edition sizes, just to limit the craziness.

Summer sale at Wilde Imagination

A Bon Voyage?, photo property of Wilde Imagination
Check out the July Summer Sale of Ellowyne Wilde and Evangeline Ghastly dolls, clothes and accessories going on now through Friday, July 15th at 9pm EST - no promo code needed! To make the deals even sweeter, Wilde Imagination will ship these sale items for free within the continental United States.

Color Infusion @ the IFDC

Rebel Spirit by alington
Rebel Spirit, a photo by alington on Flickr.
The real reason I didn't get photos of every single doll at Integrity's booth was because I was so distracted by the Color Infusion line. Click here to see the Flickr album.

I just ended up adding Cosmic Love to my pre-orders (I'm already waiting for Rebel Spirit). I mean, with my obsession for color--my hair, every room in my house being another color--and Amelie (I mean $125 for an Amelie sculpt?)--wow! It's like IT is out to get me. (Just kidding!)

I'm sure many collectors saw these dolls and thought, "Eeew. Too many colors, not enough black. Too much clashing. Not for me." But if you'd seen them in person...

Let me convince you.
  1. The line is affordable. Amelie has got to be the cutest face sculpt around. You can't find her new for less than $200 (unless you go to Denise's Wave from Japan seminar at IFDC).
  2. The outfits. Rebel Spirit: black shoes and white shorts. Brown corset belt. Red purse. I consider those neutral. OK, maybe Cosmic Love isn't that neutral. Her socks are black, her stole white, and her purse is gold. 
  3. Color! Rebel Spirit: mustard coat, turquoise shirt, navy socks. Cosmic Love: pink dress, purple shoes!
  4. Can you say accessories? Sunglasses, bangles, purse, ring, earrings, socks, belt, necklace, stole...
  5. Hair. I love their colored hair and Rebel Spirit's funky up-do. I think Cosmic Love might be channeling Rihanna just a little.
This line is for me. I can't wait to see what's next. I'd love to see Misaki in this line, too.

Nu.Face @ the IFDC

London Mist by alington
London Mist, a photo by alington on Flickr.
Next up, the 2011 NuFace collection. Two new characters (well, three, counting Rayna) are gracing this line. Click here for the photo album on Flickr.

I can't start without mentioning Imogen,and how sorry I am I didn't pre-order this girl. Her short hair is adorable, and I love her face.

Annik is a wonderful doll as well--Quiet Storm is an interesting name for her. Her hair is wild, and her outfit is terrific. I might be mistaken, but I think a restyled version of her is modeling the True Blue fashion as well. Check out this photo, and tell me who you think it is.

Additional, In the Trenches is another fabulous fashion, modeled by a darker skin Rayna. As you've no doubt already heard, she surprised us by showing up as the sculpt for Go Home, the souvenir doll.

Finally, there is Nightscape Gisele. She was limited to 600 dolls as a W Club exclusive. Her hair is lovely--I just find the zipper pull out of scale.

Any comments? Impressions?

Fashion Royalty @ IFDC

Dress Code by alington
Dress Code, a photo by alington on Flickr.
I should apologize for this photo collection in advance - I was selling this year at IFDC, and I just didn't have enough time to take photos in the salesroom myself. I missed so many of the dolls!

Click here to see the Flickr photo album.

I did get a chance to take a few photos of the New Closeups Fashion Royalty collection, and I may be going out a limb here, but I really like the new Vanessa. (Shoot me now!) I believe she is still available from dealers. Breaking the Mold Veronique is also interesting in person. Her facial screening is heavier than Vanessa's and more colorful than the lingerie debut. I'd like to see both dolls with their hair down, I think.

The long sold-out Scene Stealer Isha won't disappoint, either. And Adele--wow. She is classic and gorgeous--her facial screening is super soft. Eugenia is lovely, even with her super-gelled hair. Sorry I missed Korinne and Kesenia.

The Homme line is fabulous. Viktor James is a total heart throb in a Clark Kent sort of way. I wish I'd snapped a photo of Simon, but I didn't get one, for some reason. (I may have been slightly distracted.) All the guys have fabulous accessories, at least from where I stood.

The Monogram line was surprisingly sweet. Passionate was my favorite, but I don't see how you could have only one. The hair was styled differently than the promo photos, which I liked.

Did you pre-order from these lines? What do you think of Vero and Vanessa?

IFDC NuFantasy photos

Go West by alington
Go West, a photo by alington on Flickr.
All righty then! Let's get started on a few under-lit Integrity Toys dolls from the IFDC. I love seeing dolls in person, instead of promotional photos. Seeing the dolls in person is exciting, even if they aren't dolls I would normally collect. (All I can say is: It's a good thing the dolls at Integrity's table weren't for sale.)

Click this link to see the NuFantasy and Vampire Bride dolls.

Go West, shown here, was an IFDC exclusive, and uses the Natalia face sculpt. Her outfit is purple and black, and she's got an emerald green ring on her finger. Her entire look is couture and rather wicked looking.

I'm sorry I didn't get a better photo of her shoes--I believe the heels have silver flying monkeys on them.

I was delighted by the Snow White collection, Pure and Malicious. Both dolls are very well done. Malicious's (is that right?) outfit in particular has this felted wool cape that was spidery and creepy. And Pure, oh my! Her outfit is just wonderful, and her face adorable. (I can see her redressed.)

A great surprise to me were the Vampire Brides. I love vampires, but I prefer them in large BJD form over vinyl. These ladies are really wonderful in person, and unexpectedly, my favorite is the Contessa.

Enjoy the photos, and let me know what you think! Did you pre-order any of these? Are you more or less excited about them now?

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

2011 IFDC : It's Over Already?

Melissa trying to win a prize
I can't believe that the International Fashion Doll Convention (IFDC) for 2011 is already over. It seems like it takes forever to get here and then in the blink of an eye it's over. My voice, though, is glad. A friend called today and wondered if I was sick because my voice croaked on every third word. I suppose it serves me right though. I scared the "you-know-what" out of our friend and fellow contributor Melissa by yelling encouragement very loudly as she was playing the slots during the slot tournament. I had fun.

Poppy and her new hatbox
First there were the workshops and seminars. The workshops are classes in which attendees learn to make something doll-related and then take it home. Seminars are opportunities to gather information of a doll-related nature. This year I signed up for seven workshops and seminars! I made luggage for my Poppy in both of Durelle Brown's luggage workshops, I made shoes for Poppy in Rob Thompson's shoe workshop, and I created a landscape painting in Jim Faraone's creative painting class. These are all things I never thought I could do, but the instructors were excellent. They provided clear, and humorous, instructions which even I could follow.

New BJD from Peak's Woods!

KoonieS, Fairy of Spider, new Fairy of Bugs sculpt by Peak's Woods.

While I was away at IFDC, Peak's Woods released a new doll: KoonieS, a Fairy of Bugs resin BJD, who stands 42 cm (about 16.5"). She is a Fairy of Spiders, and she is adorable!

Her current list price is $315, and she is available with the following options:
  • normal or white skin
  • normal (flat or young girl) or large bust
  • extra hand parts
  • random 14mm eyes
  • optional basic make-up ($60) or special gothic style make-up ($80)
  • optional extra head $120 (you can add regular or special makeup to this head for the prices listed above)
  • limited edition outfit shown ($60)
  • boots shown ($36.90)
I don't see a wig included, so that may be extra. She reminds me a lot of a miniature Lavin or Lottie--like a younger sister to those dolls. Cute!

KoonieS, special gothic make-up

KoonieS, regular make-up
All photos are property of Peak's Woods.

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

More goodies on eBay...

I've just spent most of the day listing a ton of auctions on eBay at Buy-It-Now or Best Offer list prices. Come check out my listings!

I've had most of my IFDC souvenirs sell already, but I do have some other special dolls on there, just waiting to come to your home, including the adorable Rock Candy Rufus Blue, pictured here. So come check them out and see if you need anything.

Additionally, I have some Ball-Jointed Dolls for Beginners books in stock at my home. If you haven't received your copy yet, now is the time. I'll even autograph it for you, if you like. The shipping is on me (for US orders), and I've marked it down to just $30.

Thanks for looking!

Teresa, Dynamite Girls Sooki and Neve

I know I haven't posted in a while, and now I am happy to post again. I was just waiting for some interesting dolls to come, if you know what I mean. This time it is a 1980s Teresa and some Dynamite Girls, Neve and Sooki. Neve is not wearing her Chill Factor outfit in these photos, so you may not recognize her.

Teresa is wearing a leopard print dress that I made (I just took a piece of random fabric and pinned it. She didn't have any clothes!) and I forgot to put her shoes on. She has very long golden brown hair which is braided but at some point I will show you what she looks like with her hair down.

Sooki is a Vintage Vinyl dolls. She is not wearing her violet satin dress but she is wearing a Barbie clothing item. You may have seen pictures of her in past posts.

Neve is a Chill Factor doll. She is one of the new Dynamite Girls. I've forgotten her name once or twice and I kept thinking that she was Jett.

Now hopefully I will be posting more often because I will have some new things to share!

Happy fourth of July!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...