Monday, September 28, 2009

More dolls for sale at the Doll Page Show & Sell


I have listed a few more dolls for sale at the Show & Sell section of the Doll Page. Check them out when you get a chance! Here's my complete list:

  • Ultra Basic Shauna Auburn - an exclusive by Angelic Dreamz
  • Cynders (ReImagination), mint and complete (she's never been redressed)
  • La Mode Bordeaux Tyler - mint and complete (she's never been redressed)
  • Queen of Clubs (Betty Ann sculpt, platinum up-do), nude
  • Emerald Evening outfit, for DeeAnna Denton
  • Franklin Mint Gentlemen Prefer Blondes outfit (for Marilyn Monroe doll)
  • Fierce Subject Kyori dressed doll
  • Something Cool Isha dressed doll
  • Dressed to Thrill outfit

Saturday, September 26, 2009

Pipos Alice in Wonderland Release #3



Pipos has announced Alice 3, the third release of its Alice in Wonderland series of dolls, which will be available for sale starting September 30. I am enchanted by the Queen of Hearts--really enchanted--who I am sure will sell out, especially now that my doll funds are so short.

Previous full-sets have sold for about $400 ($350 for the Cheshire cats). But who knows? Maybe I will win the lottery between now and the 30th! She's just adorable!

Photos courtesy Pipos Doll.

Friday, September 25, 2009

Princess Charlene by Creedy


Princess Charlene is available now at NetCollecting.com! She is a limited edition of just 100 pieces, created exclusively for the Goodreau/Creedy convention of 2009, by Berdine Creedy. There are only a few left, so get her while you can!

She is 13-3/4" tall, a resin BJD, and the last doll in the Masquerade series. She will come to you with the gorgeous peach princess gown, Disney Mickey Mouse princess tiara and mask. She is a new face sculpt, as well. Her retail is is $295, the same as the other dolls in this series, Gorgeous and Precious.

(Mine is on her way, so you'll soon be seeing real life photos, as I did a split with a friend for a convention absentee package. Hooray!)

Photos courtesy Berdine Creedy.

Thursday, September 24, 2009

New outfit available by Kim Lasher


Designed by Kim Lasher for Anya, Druscilla, Adeline and other MSD ball-jointed girls, this adorable holiday outfit is available for pre-order now (through Happily Ever After), due to ship in December 2009.

This limited edition outfit of only 100 pieces includes a gorgeous ruffled black and red ruffled holiday dress, matching ruffled leggings, black and white striped tights, and a cute coordinating hair bow.

List price is $68 retail, plus $7 shipping (for continental US).

Plus, check out the preview pictures of the next upcoming outfit, Ballerina Pink--it looks so cute! (Kim's outfits are just amazing--they are really well detailed, lined, and very well made. I'm very tempted by both of these!

Photos courtesy Kim Lasher.

New items for sale on the Doll Page!



Check out my latest items for sale on the Doll Page Show & Sell Marketplace! I have listed a few of Fashion Royalty items, as well as some existing Tonner items. Check them out and make me an offer. A few items of interest:

  • Fierce Subject Kyori (dressed and complete)
  • Something Cool Isha (dressed and complete)
  • Glam Slam Kyori (nude)
  • Dressed to Thrill outfit
  • La Bordeaux Tyler (complete)
  • Emerald Evening outfit for DeAnna Denton
  • Queen of Clubs (nude--Betty Ann sculpt)
Thanks for looking!

Morphoa redressed

When I get a new doll, I have to completely redress her and see how she looks in different outfits (and wigs and eyes, if she's a ball-jointed doll). I haven't switched out her eyes (yet), but here's Morphoa, my newest Doll-Zone SD-sized girl, modeling an outfit by Michele Hardy, bohemian shepherdess style, in a mohair wig.

I think she passes! I can't wait to swap out her eyes--I have a pair of 16mm (or maybe 18mm) hazel eyeballs I am dying to try out! I think they will really suit her. But all in good time! She's just so much fun.

I'm still learning the intricacies of how she poses. She is really fun to photograph. You can see her full photo shoot on my Mobile Me gallery.

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Tiny Kai - by Elfdoll


Kai, originally uploaded by alington.

My very first Elfdoll has arrived, and I don't think she will be my last! She's adorable.

Kai is a flower fairy. She's a full set, including the dress with attached feather wings, face-up, eyes (3mm--one blue, one brown), and wig, which still needs to be attached to the head cap properly.

She stands 14cm tall (about 5.5 inches). She's slim, but has a miniature woman's shapely body. And she also includes magnetic feet--these white shoes and a set of bare feet--which are at the same time simple to change and stay on securely. She also came strung with closed-fist hands, and included a pair of open hands as well.

I was examining how her wrist joints work--I had never before unstrung a doll (and wasn't planning on starting on one so tiny)--when I accidentally unhooked Kai's right hand. The elastic crept up the wrist ball joint, but I caught it before her entire arm came unstrung. I was able to get another (right) open hand hooked back on, as well as the wrist ball joint (thankfully, right side up, on the second try). After the experience, I've decided I'd better learn about restringing dolls, and soon!

I bought her from Lone Star Dolls, who I highly recommend. The doll was not only in stock on Monday, she shipped the same day, and I received her today (Wednesday)--free shipping, too! And she even included an extra wig, for free. I recommend this store highly, and will definitely be ordering again--probably sooner than I should.

See more photos with Kai, including a few posed with Sky and Morphoa (my SD-sized dolls), for a size reference on my Mobile Me gallery. She's so cute! You can even see more extreme photos of her box opening, too.

Love bargains?

Me too! Let me share my shopping tips with you... on my latest post for Dolls magazine at the Doll Addiction.
Actually, it's not really about saving money. It's confessions of a shop-a-holic. But now that I've got your attention...

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Morphoa has arrived!


Morphoa, originally uploaded by alington.

Finally, Morphoa, my first Doll-Zone SD-sized BJD, has made her arrival. You can check out my box-opening photos here. (Sure, it's a little out of control.)

After waiting so long, I was afraid I wouldn't be as thrilled with her as I would have hoped, and I was also afraid her red eyes and flower tattoo would scare me a little. But I shouldn't have worried: it was love at first sight!

Morphoa is 58cm (almost 23 inches) tall, and she's a white-skin doll, and her eyes are 18mm. She has double-jointed elbows and knees, which is different from my other SD-sized doll, a Peak's Woods Sky. Morphoa can touch her face, cross her arms, and keep her arms posed easily without assistance, right out of the box. Plus, kneeling and sitting poses are easy for her as well.

Her outfit is a little over the top--she has white puffy bloomers with coral and purple trim, a strapless zip-back babydoll top with bells and bows on the front, a collar with chiffon trim, a pair of sleeves with bells and ribbons, striped socks, platform shoes with ribbon ties, and a lace-trimmed petticoat. Her long pink wig is the only part of the outfit that leaves anything to be desired--the bangs look a little thin, but it can be worked with and styled.

The doll also included an extra pair of high-heeled feet, which is nice, and I love the shape of her fingers and elegant hands. Her pale skin is longing for some blushing, though! I just can't wait!

You can see more photos on my Mobile Me gallery. Enjoy!

Free Shipping and new Bon Voyage Ellowyne Wilde

Check out the new Ellowyne Wilde doll, Bon Voyage, a brown-eyed blonde, and celebrate with free shipping on orders of $75 or more when you use the code AHOY at check out. International orders can use the code AHOY2 and save $9.95 on orders of $75 or more.
Ellowyne is dressed in a peach chiffon dress with a shirred empire waist and cap sleeves and double ruffled hem, with lots of sequins and beaded details. She also includes matching gauntets, sparkling stockings, a beaded necklace, and strappy gladiators.

Bon Voyage is from the Hollywood Ahoy Convention, a limited edition of 1000 dolls, and retails for $129.

The coupon code expires at midnight EST on October 5, 2009.

Photo is courtesy of Wilde Imagination.

Monday, September 21, 2009

Tonner Doll Archive is up and functioning!

Ever wonder where to find out about all the dolls Tonner has ever made? Well, Tyler Wentworth's archive is now up and functioning again! Check it out--all ten years are up, including some one-of-a-kind dolls, centerpiece items, and limited edition dolls I don't remember seeing before. But keep in mind, I'm a mother of four, and I may just be losing it!
  • Dazzle Tyler, from the 2004 collection. She's the Thank-You doll from the 2004 convention. Isn't she gorgeous?
  • Femme en Noir, a Cherished Friends exclusive. Also from the the 2004 collection.
  • As Time Goes By Sydney from the 2005 collection. I know I've seen her before, but she's just lovely. Special collector's edition from the Collector's United New Year's Celebration.
  • Sydney as Guinevere. There's finally an official Tonner photo of her, and she was a Tonner Club exclusive!
  • Most Gracious Shauna - a gorgeous raven Shauna, who was a Thank-You doll for the 2006 convention.
  • Finally, a photo of Versailles Tyler (my ultimate grail doll, even still) as Marie Antoinette, from the 2007 Paris Fashion Doll Festival.
  • An adorable Rose Royale Sydney from the same Festival
  • And ack--what a cool couture Sydney she is--Sydney Confidential--from the 2009 Australian Doll Club of Sydney, a limited edition of 150.
All photos are courtesy Tonner Doll Company.

Make Mine Mod challenge 1 - Couture Doll

The first challenge results are posted on the Couture Doll site, though the scores aren't yet listed. Can you spot my friend Jen Eugley's entry? (I bet my loyal readers will be able to!) There are a lot of talented designers for this challenge--you guys rock! I can't wait to see the judges scores.
The next challenge should be fun, too--it's due in two weeks, and the inspiration is a pair of shoes! (How much fun is that?) Whee!

Sunday, September 20, 2009

Fantastic place to find Jenny dolls!

R&D Fashion Dolls is a great international site where you can find Jenny dolls, like my Birthday Club doll. While she is no longer available, you will be able to find others (including other Club dolls, at much cheaper prices than what I paid on Ebay, I should add).
In addition, you can also find Momoko dolls, which are hard to find in the US (and can I just say how badly I would like to add Alice in Snow to my collection? And while you're there, check out how cute Lacy Modernist is! She's a pre-order), Licca, some Volks dolls, and limited edition Barbies (some of which are hard to find here). In addition, R&D is an Integrity Toys dealer, and often have interesting and hard-to-find Fashion Royalty, Dynamite Girl Susie (she's an exclusive for them), and occasionally FR Nippon as well.

I know a few collectors who have shopped from this site, and they not only have a reputation for great customer service, but the owners are fellow collectors and very friendly and knowledgeable as well. Plus, one of the owners, Rudi, who also runs a blog (check it out and follow it!) is actually one of the guest judges on Couture Challenge, also.

Photos courtesy Sekiguchi.

Birthday Club Jenny


Birthday Club Jenny, originally uploaded by alington.

My first Takara Jenny has arrived, a 2005 Birthday Club doll. She's a limited edition of 1000 dolls, and I found her on Ebay. Her arms and legs are wire-framed, so she poses a bit like Gumby. I think it will take me a while to figure out how to pose her naturally.

Of course, she's in my collection because she looks like Alice in Wonderland. And yes, she has variegated blue hair. Her face is very anime-looking. I wasn't sure I'd like it, but I find it quite cute in real life.

Her outfit is surprisingly detailed--with ribbons and lacing in the front. And her shoes are fun--platforms that lace with ribbon. And she needs a birthday crown. She's about the same size as a Barbie--maybe 10.5" tall or so.

You can see more photos of her on my Flickr account or full-size photos on my Mobile Me gallery. Have a great weekend!

Saturday, September 19, 2009

Will edit boring letters in exchange for dolls...

Doll collecting isn't one of those hobbies you can do on the cheap, I've found. I mean, sure, it's great to find a couple of Birthstone Barbies at TJ Maxx (like I did today, which was great--February and March for just $12.99--a steal!), but for my own personal collection, which is consisting of BJDs lately, these don't tend to pop up at Big Lots! Any chance I get to make an extra dollar here and there (legally) is welcomed.

I think I earned my keep editing the world's most boring letter this evening. It took over two hours, and it was written by two brilliant physicians, who are both nice and literate. Both have an excellent command of the English language as well--and only one shies away from punctuation, as if it were the H1N1 virus, actually. It shouldn't have been a painful process, but after my hours of blogging and message boarding (can I use that as a verb? I just did!) about dolls, I found it more than a bit tedious. I feel like I might have earned myself some extra dolly funds.

Along that same subject... housework. Does that earn any extra credit? Unfortunately, in this house, no. It falls to me, as I happen to be the stay-at-home parent. When I said yes to marriage, I also happened to say yes to the housework. (It must have been in those vows somewhere--one of those buyer-beware situations I must be sure to warn my daughters about. My mother must have told me, but I just didn't pay attention.) So my advice--let your house get extra messy to get credit for extra work!

And along those lines... the kitty litter box. That must earn some extra credit points, right? Or the endless laundry of four children?

How do you solve a problem like Maria, for that matter?

Have a wonderful, doll-filled weekend! And buyer: beware! :)

Friday, September 18, 2009

SD doll clothes to check out...

I've been following Lelahel's Tweets for a while, and she's got her first Ebay auction up for sale! It's for a gorgeous hand-made SD-sized BJD outfit, and you must check it out. (She's in France, but shipping costs are included.)

Check out her blog as well, to see her previous fabulous work. And don't forget to sign up to follow her on Twitter.

Get free shipping on orders of $100 or more at Tonner Direct!

Use the promo code SEPT09 and get free shipping when you check out. International customers can use 09SEPT and get a $9.95 shipping credit. Valid through September 30, 2009 at midnight EST.

While you're there, check out the specials. A couple good deals I saw:
There are a lot of others, too--something for everyone.

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Eeek! Another Alice!

She's a Barbie-sized doll, or 1/6 sized, BJD by Soom, called Aren. With a face-up, her price is $310, but she's gorgeous. She wears 8mm eyes, and includes a random wig.
The outfit is also available separately, as well, if you don't collect BJDs, but are interested in Alice in Wonderland dolls. It even includes the rabbit doll. Cute!

Edit: I've decided I need this doll. Badly! Ack! She can even wear Barbie clothes. How cool is that?

Edit #2: I've also decided I have to stay away from the Den of Angels group. There are way too many cool real-life photos of dolls over there. Ack again!

Edit #3: Think I've managed to stay away from Den of Angels? Nope! I've already found two of these lovely ladies for sale. And I think I will buy her, since now my husband owes me, for editing that horrible letter for three hours this evening. Ugh. Who actually ever uses the word laryngoscope in real speech, anyway? Ick!

My Tiny Wish List Grows...

My wish list of Tiny BJDs is growing rapidly! (I really shouldn't be spending so much time on Den of Angels, browsing through the fabulous photo galleries...) Here are the current top four candidates:
  • Tiny Kai, by Elf Doll. She's a full-set, 14cm, with 3mm eyes (one of each color), a tiny womanly body, and includes her little feathered wing fairy outfit. Her feet are magnetic, and boots and bare feet are also available separately.
  • Pury Basic White, by LatiDoll. I'd order her as a full-set, with a face-up, wig and outfit. She stands 9.8 cm tall.
  • Peya (HandFairy) by DolKot. She's 16cm tall. I think I like the normal skin basic version, but I'd order her with a face-up, and an extra wig.
  • Riko by Fairy Garden. Only 10 cm tall, I like the pink skin version I think, with a face-up. Sometimes there are fun full-sets of these dolls on the website, so I may just keep my eyes open for a while.
Photos courtesy of Elf Doll, LatiDoll, DolKot and Fairy Garden.


Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Morphoa is on her way...


I'm very excited to announce that Morphoa is on her way to me. She should be here on September 22, according to the UPS shipping notice I received from the Doll Market. I can hardly wait for her arrival! I also have to say, I got great service from Amanda, and I more than pleased with the Doll Market's lay-away plan.
I'm sure you'll see photos in a week!
Photo courtesy of the Doll Market.

Passing down the doll collecting gene...

On almost a daily basis, one of my daughters, who are eight and five, will ask me if they can have my doll collection when I die. (I'm 36 and in very good health!) I believe I have successfully passed down the doll collecting gene to them. Want to know how to do it? Read more, at The Doll Addiction!

Monday, September 14, 2009

Interview with Grace from Gracefaerie Designs

#10 Takeshita-dori pattern
#29 Steampunk Dress
#35 Don't Pin Me Down View #1
Messenger from Another Place
Planetdoll Riz Forsaken Side View
Planetdoll Riz Forsaken Rear View
Planetdoll Riz Forsaken Front View
Ascent, example of visual arts gallery sculpture
#35 Don't Pin Me Down View 2

Grace, from gracefaerie designs recently agreed to do an interview with me, and I was delighted to get to know her and her business a bit better.

About the business:
Grace was introduced to ball-jointed dolls in 2004 by her husband, who needed a Volks SD13 Nana in his photography work. She had been collecting vinyl and antique dolls, and was instantly captivated by the glow of the BJD's resin. Her husband was asked to create an outfit for the doll, and of course, Grace was hooked.

As her passion for clothing design rose, her interest in exhibiting visual art in galleries waned. Grace explains the transition this way: "While I loved the process of making art (primarily mixed media sculpture), the gallery context was becoming increasingly shallow and unfulfilling. Offering patterns for the BJD community seemed like the perfect way to redirect my energy."

gracefaerie designs formed in 2007, when Grace made a pattern for her niece Gertie, whose first BJD (CP Luts Miyu, Momo) needed a new wardrobe. Gertie (on winter break from the Art Institute of Chicago) and Grace's sister-in-law Joni (of JoniJewelry) combined efforts with an Ebay store in March 2007, selling Grace's patterns, Joni's jewelry and Gertie's garments and accessories. Laura, Grace's tech diva, set up the website and designed the pattern covers. Soon, Denver Doll Emporium carried the entire line of patterns. Today, there are 41 patterns in the line. Patterns are designed primarily for ball-jointed dolls, but some are also available for 14" articulated Kish dolls and Ellowyne Wilde.

Grace's favorite part of designing a pattern is the prototype. After the initial muslin phase, she plays with the design of the garment. Selecting fabric and embellishments that make the design come to life are most fun and inspiring. The most challenging aspects of pattern design are writing clear instructions. One of the primary goals is providing patterns that are fun to make, and removing as many of the fitting struggles as possible. This way, users can easily add their own personal creativity and style to the pattern.

When I asked Grace if there was a lot of "trial and error" in the process, she admitted she laughed out loud. (So, I have to confess, I've never created a pattern!) Grace told me, "In private, I call my method, 'mistake-driven'!" These "mistakes" are what lures her out of her comfort zone, however, and what move into new visual territory. From her training in visual art exhibition, Grace has learned that the struggle of getting what might be a "disaster" to work visually and emotionally often rewards you with your best work. One of her mentors taught her to actually turn her paintings upside down to help her see what was going on visually with her composition. An interesting technique, I thought!

Grace loves to sew. Her grandmother taught her, and she's been sewing since since she was three. Her best tip is pressing your seams: your iron is as important as your sewing machine. She enrolled in an adult tailoring class at the age of thirteen and made outfits with lined jackets and bound buttonholes. Just a word of advice on fitting bodices: For 27 years, Grace worked as a dancer, choreographer and dance instructor. No complaining when the pin pierces the velvet and pokes you in the ribs! She and the other dancer learned to stand perfectly still while skillful wardrobe mistresses fitted the corseted bodices of costumes like second skins.

Her highest compliments come from customers who enjoy her patterns and hear they "set their imagination in flight." (Check out the amazing article on BJD Collectasy as well.) Paulette Goodreau has been supportive and generous as well. Goodreau's beautiful ad in Doll Crafter and Costuming in January 2009 featured gracefaerie designs. Paulette also invited Grace to design the cover pattern and costume for Queen Azure for the cover of July 2009 issue, usingthe exclusive pattern Steamy Summer Steampunk. Joni made the jewelry and Gertie created the hat to complete the look. The article and pattern should appear in the electronic version of Dolls Magazine in December.

Some of the outfits Grace are most proud of: Takeshita-dori #10 and #11 and Serafuku #34 required some of the most research (Grace gives cat, who she met on a doll message forum and is very knowledgeable about this area, credit for research help), as well as Steamy Summer Steampunk fall into this category. Berdine Creedy's Melodi (now Viola, thanks to Michele Hardy's delicate face-up) was the inspiration behind pattern #35 Don't Pin Me Down. The kitty hat took eight and a half hours to draft, as the ears had to be perfectly oriented in the curved side seams. But the project was fun, and it was an inspiring process.

With the Guest Artist Series, Nancie of Nankatts resized #30 Play Day for her 10-12" BJDs, and invented seven new variations. Jozel's version of #40 Clarissa's Closet accents the best of the chunky new ABC Goodreau bodies. The next artists to contribute are Charie Wilson and Gale of WeeWardrobe.

gracefaerie designs takes pattern suggestions. Many patterns from #10 were inspired from customer requests. So don't be shy--send her your request on messages groups and forums.

Today, you can find gracefaerie designs patterns on her website, the Ebay store, through Denver Doll Emporium, JPop Dolls, Bobobie Mall, Dolls Dept 25, and soon through Goodreau Doll Lab. Denver Doll offers the patterns for sale at conventions. And most recently, Gale of WeeWardrobe and Jozel offered the patterns at their sales table at the Goodreau/Creedy Convention.

Latest additions to the website: #41 Best Friends, a very easy pattern for 10.5" toddler Creedy girls and 8" Goodreaus from the Goodreau/Creedy convention, and Forsaken, photos and instructions on how to make the embroidered sleeves.

Some things her customers can look forward to: Charie Wilson has drafted an original pattern, #43 Planet Lux - Layers of Luxury for 43cm Planetdoll girls. The pattern will include many garments designed for layering, and even includes a hand-knitted lace pattern.

About her collection:
According to Grace, "Where normal people have a sofa or dining room set, we have doll cabinets and displays (my husband has a large collection of artist dolls, Gene repaints, and BJD). Whole rooms are devoted to dolls along with most of the wall space." From dolls she has collected from her childhood, to her grandmother's, aunts' and mother's dolls, she has a large variety. She has a Tiny Betsy McCall, Tiny Tears, a few original Barbies, a Madame Alexander ballerina. Though her collection mostly grows with the addition of ball-jointed beauties.

As far as themes go--prior to the introduction of BJDs, she had a large group of mod era dolls, lots of Francie dolls, Willow, Daisy and TNT with rooted lashes. In addition, she also has a several repainted Gene Marshal repaints, Kitty Collier, and contemporary Cissy dolls, many with handmade outfits, which she and her niece created together.

Her current favorites are the BJDs with custom face-ups. "I respond to the “hand of the artist” that is visible in the tiny brush strokes along with the feeling that the artist’s spirit brought my doll’s personality to life." (So do I!) When I asked Grace about a grail, she excitedly admitted she's longed to add Dollstown Seola to her collection, and in fact, just this week, she's ordered her (hooray!), and she'll head straight to Jay Searle's studio for a face-up. She can hardly wait.

Mostly dolls with complex personalities and sculpts that express a range of emotions (not just pretty faces) are what draw her to a doll. She prefers strong body sculpts, such as Dollstown and Planetdoll, as these dolls read more like sculpture, than like dolls.

For her eclectic clothing style, she's drawn to a steampunk aesthestic, which is the pairing of Victorian fashion and steam-powered inventions." (Check out this great article on Wikipedia, as well for more information.) Also, she experiments with variations of the EGL and EGA genres, such as these outfits of from Messenger from Another Place and From Another Time, inspired by Volks SDG Kin, now Elicia after her Jay Searle faceup.

Grace sews for her dolls frequently, so she can answer questions from her customers who need fitting instructions on a particular body sculpt. At this point in time, she isn't selling her creations.

Grace rarely suffers from creative blocks--her problems mostly result from a backlog of creative ideas and a time limitations. She uses her dolls as her creative inspiration. Her first muse was CP Luts Miyu. In addition, Berdine Creedy's and Paulette Goodreau's dolls are a continual source of inspiration for her as well. And Planetdoll Riz is the entire source of inspiration behind the costume Forsaken. In Grace's words:

"Strong personalities, resin or human, invite me to reach deeper into my own personality…to discover clusters of emotions that interact in a dynamic synergy. For instance, I may see sadness, loneliness, and loss in a face, and also feel a profound sense of beauty and joy. Every feature…the shape of the mouth, the line in the forehead, the depth of the gaze… speaks of compassion grounded in sorrow… inner strength shaped by vulnerability and loss. My models are my muses, and my mirrors."

Photos courtesy of gracefaerie designs.


Sunday, September 13, 2009

Do you need help?

From my Dolls Magazine blog...
This is a public service announcement. Maybe you need assistance with your doll collecting. Use this handy checklist to see if you need an intervention!

Enjoy!

Second release of Alice in Labyrinth head & body doll

The Alice head sculpt by Alice in Labyrinth is available as a head and body combination in a second run. And she is now also available in a painted or blank version.

She stands 14.6 inches tall, and suggested eyes are 12-14mm. Her painted version runs $430, and blank version is $370.

Her unique body shows a very interesting flanged joint system, with hidden and beautiful joints, though the knee joints allow for about a 90 degree angle bend only. I think her hands, fingers and toes are really gorgeous, too. (She's very tempting!)

Photos courtesy of Alice in Labyrinth.

Thursday, September 10, 2009

SoHo a Go-Go!


Soho a Gogo, originally uploaded by alington.

I'm starting to fall in love with this girl. This is Taking A Letter Monica Merrill, purchased as a split from www.dreamcastledolls.com. I just got her outfit (also as a split), SoHo a Go-Go. Together, they are divine!

I have to admit, I didn't really like her at first. But with the outfit, she really makes a statement. She's quite an interesting character--reminds me a little of the original 18" Kitty Collier (also by Tonner Doll Company) with her brown acrylic eyes. My doll has rooted red hair, set in a perfect up-do. She stands 16" tall, and she uses Tyler Wentworth's regular bendy-wrist fashion body (with convertible flat/fashion feet), so they can share clothes.

The outfit is very well made. The princess-seamed halter dress is made from chartreuse satin and ties behind Monica's neck. The fun feathered jacket has an over-sized satin bow on the collar. Matching opera length gloves, glass bauble earrings, detailed bow pumps and pantyhose complete the look.

You can see more photos on Flickr or full-size photos on my Mobile Me gallery.

Wednesday, September 9, 2009

New Ebay listings...

So, the time has come to list some more dolls on Ebay. Here are some things you should know:

When you shop on Ebay, you can earn 2% cash back when you go through Ebates.com. And it really works. Just remember to go through your Ebates link before you start shopping. (Also, if you don't have an Ebates account, sign up through my link. I earn $5 for every referral. Refer a friend once you have your own account set up!)

Second, did you know you can list five items for free every 30 days on Ebay? You still have to pay the closing costs (when your item sells), and that's the expensive part. But still--every little bit helps.

Here's the link to my auctions. Some never-before-seen items I found in my stash, actually (how embarrassing is that?). The list (no reserves on any of these auctions, actual shipping applies, all smoke-free home, but I do have two cats who stay away from my dolls):
  • NRFB Candy Girl for Tiny Kitty (it's a cute little 10" outfit from the 2007 Tiny Kitty line, which will also fit Simone Rouge)
  • NRFB On The Go Tiny Kitty Dressed Doll (this is the fun blonde with glasses)
  • MIB Snow Queen by Tonner Doll from 2008 Fall/Holiday collection (Tess sculpt, mint and complete)
  • MIB Idyllic Antoinette (no reserve, and she's mint and complete)
  • Nude and mint Emphatic Antoinette (no reserve--must see!)
  • Hypnotic outfit only (for Antoinette), complete
Thanks for looking, and I appreciate your support!

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Fun with Creedy dolls..


Harmoni and Uniti, originally uploaded by alington.

I've redressed Harmoni (and changed her sad little eyes to brown) as Alice, and also my exclusive Mod Alice (Uniti sculpt) as the White Rabbit (well, sort of), using a combination of outfits by Michele Hardy. Both dolls are 12-3/4" resin BJDs by Berdine Creedy. I also straightened out Uniti's eyes a bit.

You may not be able to tell from these photos, but I've blushed Harmoni. And Uniti will be next, as soon as I refill my sealant supply. It's easy and fun, using pastels. I love the effect!

Tea party accessories are by Rement. I think the petit fours are a Tiny Kitty accessory, from the Christmas Hat Box gift set.

You can see more photos on Flickr, and there are larger photos posted on my Mobile Me gallery.

DollWhy for BJDs

A new shop for doll accessories and outfits popped up on Den of Angels today: DollWhy. I checked them out and wow, am I tempted. It's a shop run by doll collectors turned designers--what a better group of people to support, I say!

Lots of amazing items on there, ever so tempting. Go check them out!

Sunday, September 6, 2009

How do you decide on a doll?

When you're deciding to add a doll to your collection, what criteria do you consider? I'm having a difficult time, especially when it comes to adding another BJD to my collection.
Here's my dilemma. I'd like a tiny BJD--as small as possible. So far, the smallest I have is a 5" Goodreau Ashlyn. And I'd like this next one to be considered an ABJD. I've found a couple I think are cute, but one is twice as pricey as most others, and while the manufacturer has gotten recent positive reviews on service, but some older negative reviews (from a year ago or more).

Now--here are my considerations:
  • Height. I'd like the doll to be 6" (15 cm) or shorter
  • Look. I prefer this doll not to have overly large proportioned head.
  • The doll I like best so far looks like a miniature woman, sort of fairy-like, but I'm not married to this idea.
  • I'd like her to stand easily on her own, so probably larger feet
  • Female (or appear female)
  • Expressive face
  • Good reviews from current owners
  • I'd like to see some real-life photos of the doll, if possible.
What else should I consider? I would pay for a full-set. I'd love a sleeping face or head option, too, if that's available. Or extra hands. I don't mind paying extra. Have any favorites? Maybe I should post on Den of Angels for advice and photo requests.

Alice in Disneyland from Goodreau/Creedy Convention

Oh, can you guess who is dying to add this doll to her collection, and is so sad, since she sold out?
She is the Alice in Disneyland Berdine Creedy centerpiece to one of the dinner events (maybe the closing banquet), but I'm not sure. But I have heard she is sold out.

I just think she is adorable. She's a 12-3/4" resin BJD. Just lovely and sweet. The rabbit is by Art Rogers.

Anyone who went to the event want to sell her to me? I might be willing to come up with an unwieldy sum for her... ;)

Photo courtesy of Berdine Creedy.

Twillight Dolls from Tonner

Three new Twilight™ character dolls have been released and are available for pre-order from your favorite Tonner Doll dealer. (I missed these in the Fall/Holiday release somehow.) Each doll is a LE 1000 and retails for $179.99. The line contains three new sculpts:
  • Victoria She's dressed in a jersey tank top, black jeans, white faux fur jacket. She is on the regular Tyler Wentworth flat-footed body (but includes high-heel feet as well).
  • Laurent On Matt O'Neill's body, this guy is dressed in cords, brocade vest, and a faux leather jacket.
  • James Also on the Matt O'Neill body, James is dressed in blue jeans, weathered faux leather jacket, resin police badge, and lots of fun details.
Photos courtesy of Tonner Doll Company.
--------
Added September 6, 2009:
After my rushed, neutral and merely semi-informative post on these three new additions to Tonner's Fall/Holiday line, I read a very informative post at Terri Gold's blog, which I must encourage you to check out. For one, I completely missed out on the fact that these promo photos show dolls without a single shoe. (Was I really in such a hurry? Good thing I'm not a surgeon!)
If you're not currently subscribing to Terri's blog, it's one of my favorites! First, of course, is her absolutely stunning original photography. Second, of equal merit, are her articles, which mince no words and project their voice refreshingly. I love it. Go subscribe today.

Saturday, September 5, 2009

Sky gets a new wig!


Sky in chestnut mohair wig, originally uploaded by alington.

My Peak's Woods Sky BJD gets a couple of new wigs. You can see her modeling a chestnut colored mohair wig called Lettie (I believe) by Pupa Paradise. I got it second hand in a lot of three from Ebay.

Sky is also modeling Alice Fantasy, by DollHeart. Here, I've removed the sleeves, which attach with buttons, for a summery look. And also, I've removed the pinafore as well.

You can see a few other photos on Flickr, or some larger photos on Mobile Me. Enjoy your long Labor Day weekend!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...