Saturday, February 28, 2015

Please update your blog feeds to my new website!

Dear readers,

I've just managed to update my website to an elegant Squarespace account. You will now be able to read all of these entries (and future ones) at I've also posted a for-sale page, and linked my BJDs for Beginners blog there as well.

I look forward to seeing you there!

Friday, February 20, 2015

Emepris Doll: New OOAK resin beauty available now

Miss V is available from Emperis Doll for £750 plus shipping. She wears a pretty handmade haute couture dress with sequin flowers, attached buckle. Her wig is hand-dyed pink, and is adorned with a lovely floral headband.

Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Tonner Tuesdays - special pricing!

Summer Swing Cami
Check out the selection of sale dolls available today only in honor of Tonner Tuesday! There's lots of great stuff on sale.

You can pick up a dressed Summer Swing Cami for only $75--and she includes a fun little bag, too. Plus, Party Print Liu Liu is on sale for only $60. And, if you've been thinking of adding a new 19" Wizard of Oz doll to your collection, both Glinda and the Wicked Witch are on sale for $99.99.

Photo property of Tonner Doll.

Disney Cinderella by Mattel

Four new Barbies have been released and are available for order very soon as part of Disney's latest theatrical release, Cinderella. The first doll, Cinderella's Royal Ball, features her typical fairytale presentation in her blue dress and "glass" slippers. I think this is a new face sculpt. She seems to retail around $70-75, per most dealer sites, but her MSRP from Mattel is $39.99, and she's currently in stock

The second version of Cinderella is called Cinderella's Wedding Day. She retails for $39.95 (dealer price) and is in-stock at Doll Genie. She's dressed in a pretty white wedding gown with sheer sleeves, a tiara, and coordinating jewelry. Also, she's available for just $24.99 from Mattel.

Lady Tremaine is another new addition to the collection in the likeness of Cate Blanchett. I love her sculpt and her hair, but I'm not crazy about the fake gloves or plastic feather. I do adore her dress, though.

Cinderella's Fairy Godmother is also available for purchase. She is dressed in a retro ballgown, in fabric similar to Crystal Barbie, only with a high collar. She includes wings, tiara and silver wand.

Photos are property of Doll Genie.

New Tokidoki Barbie to be released this year... and more!

The Doll Genie is offering a special preorder for the latest Tokidoki Barbie to be released later this year. No actual photo is available yet, but she is part of the Pop Like Series, scheduled to be released in August 2015 for $75 MSRP (that we know). She celebrates Tokidoki's tenth anniversary, and includes a Tokidoki printed skirt with an underlayer of bright tulle, silver sequin top, plus her standard heels and coordinating jewelry. She's said to have blonde hair with pink tips and a headband. Additionally, she includes her pink cactus pet on a leash and a shopping bag.

New Holiday Barbies announced at Doll Genie

The 2015 Holiday Barbies have been previewed at Doll Genie. They are dressed in a red ballgown trimmed with lace, as a blonde or African American skin tone. Both dolls are scheduled for August 2015 release, and Doll Genie is offering them at $44.95 per doll.
Photos are property of Doll Genie.

2015 Barbie - a new repro coming soon!

There are several sketches in the Sneak Peek section of the Barbie Collector bulletin board, including a brand new reproduction Barbie, Superstar Forever, who appears to be dressed in the Dream Date fashion. She is a Superstar head sculpt on a Model Muse body, with a planned release date of the middle of 2015.

I'm not sure, but I think the photo above shows the original Dream Date Barbie from 1982. I'm borrowing this photo from Papusile Mele, another great resource for doll fans.

Friday, February 13, 2015

Tonner Doll Valentine's Day sale

Save $14 off orders of $100 or more at Tonner Doll, through February 16, with the code VDAY. The coupon is valid on in-stock items only.

Thursday, February 12, 2015

Solitaire5 - vinyl Sybarites

Check out the latest stop-motion add for Solitaire, a new Venus clone, LE 1000, made out of vinyl. She goes on sale today at 6PM UK time. I'm interested in seeing her price!

Friday, February 6, 2015

New Azone Hello KIKIPOP!

Whee! I can hardly contain myself! Two new dolls are ready for preorder for later release this year, and I'm absolutely thrilled! There are two ABS/PVC versions of the popular resin doll Kiki by Kinoko Juice.

The body is new, and highly articulated with 23 points of motion. Kinoko means mushroom in Japanese, I believe, and you can see the the mushroom in her eyes. Two dolls are available--one with honey pink hair and blue eyes, the other with marmalade brown hair and green eyes. The dolls are 23cm (about 9 inches) tall.

I've been coveting a Kinoko Juice Kiki for some time, but just couldn't bring myself to make the effort to find a shopping service for these dolls. They are not sold outside of Japan. And these are downright affordable. Hobby Search still has them for reservation for 22,800 Yen (about $194 US). This is a link to the pink-haired girl, and this is the link for the redhead.

 Photos are property of Azone and Kinoko Juice.

Monday, February 2, 2015

Tonner Doll Company Store photo contest!

Each week during the month of February, Tonner Doll will hold a photo competition. The idea is:

Come to the Tonner Company Store (301 Wall Street, Kingston, New York, 12401) and take your best picture of your favorite doll. Post the photo on Tonner's Facebook page.

Winners will be chosen weekly, and presented a doll at the Tonner Company Store by Robert Tonner himself.

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

New Tonner Doll preview

Jupiter Ascending 
Tonner Doll Company has previewed several new dolls today. It looks like there are more dolls arriving, and several new lines have been announced. I'm noticing a few price increases with this release. You can preorder dolls from the collection from your favorite dealer, and see the complete release on Tonner's website here.

In addition to the dolls released today, more dolls are coming soon, which include the brand new Marley Wentworth collection, Patsy and Patsyette, American Models, a new DC Star category, more Wizard of Oz items, Sindy, and Deja Vu.

Above, from the new collection Jupiter Ascending, is the name sake doll. She uses a new sculpt, modeled after Mila Kunis, with green eyes and mink rooted hair. She is limited to 300 and retails for $239.99. She's scheduled to arrive February 2. Two other dolls have also been announced: Jupiter Jones (LE300 $199.99), which uses the same sculpt, in stock now, and Caine, LE300 $189.99. No photo of Caine is available yet, but he will use a new Channing Tatum sculpt on the 17" Matt O'Neill body.

Perfectly Pink
A single new Tiny Kitty doll, Perfectly Pink, is scheduled to arrive February 26, retail $149.99, LE500.

Golden Princess
There have been more additions to the Diana Prince collection, as well. All of these dolls use the Tyler 2.0 sculpt on the 16" Fit body. A new basic doll, Diana Basic, has wigged brunette hair and green eyes, retails for $99.99 as an open edition, arriving February 26. Three new dressed dolls have also been announced. Golden Princess, shown above, retails for $179.99 and is in stock, limited to 500. Diana is a wigged platinum doll, arriving February 2, retail $189.99. Special Agent Diana, with rooted black hair, also retails for $189.99 and is arriving February 26. Two new outfits are in stock: Beauty and Strength (LE300 $94.99) and Winter Princess (LE300 $99.99). The final outfit, Stars & Stripes (LE300 $109.99), is scheduled to arrive on February 26.

Evening Evil
One additional doll has been added to the Wizard of Oz collection, LE125 retail $209.99. Evening Evil uses the Wicked Witch sculpt on the 19" Wilde Imagination Evangeline body. I really love her outfit. She is scheduled to arrive February 26.

I'll Never Be Hungry Again
Two Vivien Leigh dolls have been added to the Gone With The Wind collection. Above, I'll Never Be Hungry Again, is limited to 500 for $199.99. Shanty Town is limited to 500 and retails for $214.99. The release date of these two dolls is to be announced.

Fashion First Snoopy and Belle
Last but not least, it's an adorable gift set, LE100, retail $274.99, called Fashion First. The set features two dolls, Snoopy and Belle, and they are scheduled to arrive February 2.

Photos are property of Tonner Doll.

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Latest Steffie project...

I received a fun little package today from Belgium, containing at least one European exclusive Steffie. Above, it's Princess Laura (sold as Jewel Secrets Whitney in the US). I've been wanting to add this doll to my next Steffie book, and I'm thrilled to have her in my collection.

In addition, I received what I believe is a California Dream Midge, also from Europe. She has aqua eyes instead of the US green. I know Cool Times Midge has a similar color eye in the US release, but her lips are a pale pink, and her hair is different--she has full bangs and a little more curl.

As you can see, both dolls needs a little work, but that's easy enough to do. Additionally, there are two fashions included with the dolls which I also don't recognize. I'm really excited to get started!

Monday, January 26, 2015

W Club registration is open through February 16, 2015!

W Club registration is open now through February 16, 2015. You have the opportunity to purchase registration for $50, and add $25 for the deposit of three different exclusive dolls. This year, Aristocratic Agnes is an option for a retail cost of $130. Then, there's Groovy Galore Poppy Parker, retail $120. And finally, you can choose the Don Johnson miniature, Vice Effect Ollie Lawson, a Color Infusion doll, for $100 retail.

Click here for the complete details.

Friday, January 16, 2015

Tonner Doll fans: Check out Dreamcastle Dolls' consignment corner!

Consignment Corner at Dreamcastle Dolls
Looking for older, hard to find Tonner Dolls? Check out Carol's Consignment Corner at Dreamcastle Dolls. She has many new items--and will often offer splits, too. She also has several Genes, Barbies and Fashion Royalty dolls listed.
Plus, Carol shows actual photos of the doll you will receive in addition to reasonable shipping charges.

Wilde Imagination Virtual Factory Sale

Save the date: January 21, 2015. It's Wilde Imagination's biggest sale of the year, the Virtual Factory Sale. More information coming soon!

Thursday, January 15, 2015

New release from Wilde Imagination

Heart & Soul Ellowyne
Lots of new basic dolls, dressed dolls and outfits were released yesterday at Wilde Imagination's website. I'm noticing a lot of ruffles, chiffon, lace and sequins this time around. You can check them out yourself here, and here is my own list of highlights:

To the Ellowyne Wilde collection:

  • three new basic Ellowyne dolls, available as a set for $227, or individually for $89, in wigged blonde, inset blue eyes, wigged brunette, inset amber eyes, and wigged flame red, inset green eyes.
  • ten new vinyl dressed dolls, ranging from $175-189. Half of the dolls are still waiting for actual photos, but I notice a new character, Penn--Ellowyne's new boyfriend, coming soon. Lizette and Prudence are also coming soon. My favorite (so far) is the adorable Heart & Soul (LE500 $175) in pink.
  • one new resin doll, Decadent Daydream Two, LE125 $475. No photo is yet available, but she includes interchangeable green eyes, a strawberry wig, and a ruffled lingerie set.
  • two new outfits for $89 each.
New basic Ellowyne trio
To the Evangeline Ghastly collection:
  • one new wigged basic doll, Dancing Moon, $149.
  • a new character Angelique (new to me, at least) in Evening Angel, LE300 $229. I think this doll is just gorgeous.
  • a new Mortimer, Mortimer's Day Off, LE100 $225. He will ship February 2.
  • Parnilla in Time to Go, LE350 $219.
  • one new resin Evangeline, Dark Smile, LE125 $495.
  • three new dressed vinyl Evangelines, LE300-350, priced $219-229.
  • nine new outfits, ranging from $49-115.
  • two new wigs and one new hat
To the Amelia Thimble collection:
  • two new dressed dolls (Hamish and Amelia), $180-199.
  • two new outfits, $55 each
To the Sad Sally collection:
Evening Angel Angelique

Photos are property of Wilde Imagination.

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Crossroads Doll & Teddy Bear Show in San Diego

Attention San Diego doll collectors: Crossroads Doll & Teddy Bear Show will be hosting an event at the Al Bahr Shriner Center (5440 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego CA 97211) this weekend, January 17-18, 2015. Saturday's hours are 10am - 4pm, Sunday 10am - 3pm.

You can save $2 off the $8 admission with this coupon. Children 12 and under are $4, and are free on Sunday. Here's a list of events:

  • Doll identification and appraisal with Marshall Martin from Antiques Roadshow (up to two items)
  • Teddy Bear identification and appraisal with world expert John Port (up to two items)
  • Extensive selections of antique dolls, teddy bears and miniatures for sale
  • Meet artists showing their amazing creativity
  • Find play dolls & teddy bears for younger collectors
  • 2015 Teddy Bear of the Year (TOBY) Industry's Choice Awards announced at a ticketed event Saturday evening that includes dinner, prizes, and some surprises.
  • Kit the Cat workshop with Art Rogers ($125 includes supplies) on Friday, January 16
Click here for more information.

Monday, January 12, 2015

Tonner Doll West Coast Event souvenirs available!

New Year, New Look Ellowyne
Limited supply is available now--Wilde Imagination and Tonner Doll Company (whoops--I posted too soon!) has posted several West Coast Event souvenir dolls for sale. Dolls are limited to one per customer (each 24 hours), and will ship on January 23.

Long Ago, Far Away Evangeline
Singing the Blues Emma Jean
Photos are property of Wilde Imagination and Tonner Doll Company.

Full Spectrum Veronique Perrin

Full Spectrum

This is Full Spectrum Veronique Perrin from the 2014 Urban Safari collection. She is one of the many dolls I preordered with the intent to resell but ended up keeping. Originally, I'd intended to order her as a split (the nude doll only), but I loved the way her bright poppy day dress looks with the more muted tones of the Urban Safari collection.

Unfortunately, I ruined one of her hands. I was changing them (or trying to), and it got stuck--it broke off at the wrist. My husband was able to drill out the peg without damaging her lower arm, lucky for me. And I have other extra hands that will suit this skin tone, I believe. I've heard of this happening before; it was just my first experience with it: not fun!

You can see a few more photos of Vero on Flickr.

Saturday, January 10, 2015

Joyous Celebration Poppy Parker

Joyous Celebration

For her fifth anniversary, Integrity Toys offered an exclusive Poppy Parker to W Club members, called Joyous Celebration. She's quite lovely.

She has facial screening similar to the ultra limited edition Bergdorf Goodman Poppy, and her hair styled in a neat, easy to maintain braided up-do.

Her gown is inspired by a vintage Francie outfit--DS-2240 Ballgown, only Poppy's has a pink underskirt (rather than orange), and the shoulders of her gown are styled different. She's a lovely doll.

I believe this doll was offered to every W Club member, so I'm not sure of her edition size. I bet I could find it on her certificate of authenticity--if only I could find her box!

Joyous Celebration

Friday, January 9, 2015

Runway Right Away Vanessa Perrin

Runway Right Away

Another grail doll from my collection, and a new addition from last year: Runway Right Away Vanessa Perrin. She uses the original Vanessa sculpt, and she's been given a new updated body, which unfortunately needs to be replaced. (As you can see, her hands have faded a little.)

Her hair has been rinsed, I think, from its original style, but I think it still looks pretty good. I'd love to restyle it somehow. This is a great color for Vanessa, in my opinion. I always see her as a redhead!

Runway Right Away

Thursday, January 8, 2015

Adorned Vanessa Perrin


This is Adorned Vanessa Perrin - she uses the Vanessa 3.0 sculpt, and is one of favorite dolls from the latest Integrity Toys convention (and the only one I've picked up). I loved the centerpiece Vanessa (1.0) doll, too, but she was a little pricey for my taste.

Her gown is lovely, though I'm not usually a fan of accentuating the articulation points of a doll, which is what often happens with super low necklines. The chiffon cape attaches to the dress in the back with a tiny button and two tiny magnetic clips at the shoulder, which I could not get working--but I often have a hard time with buckling shoes. No big surprise there.

Vanessa's auburn hair is probably really pretty when brushed out--but this is her right out of the box. I think it's meant to be a long Farrah Faucett style. I love her blue eyes with this look.


Wednesday, January 7, 2015

Diana Prince - Undercover


This Tonner Doll is called Undercover and is from the new Diana Prince collection. She's a blonde Tyler 2.0 sculpt on a 16" Fit body, and I'm really quite pleased with her. Her outfit is great, too--white slacks, sequined tank top, a belt, necklace, earrings, bag and faux fur trimmed coat.

I think it's cute that when Wonder Woman goes Undercover, she wears all white, with sparkles and fur!


Tuesday, January 6, 2015



Following my resolutions, I have been splitting my time this morning on laundry and photography. It's not a great mix, but it works.

Above, it's Anja Provocatrice from the 2010 Integrity Toys convention. I added her to my collection (I believe via trade) last year, and I've been wanting her for a while. I adore her blue hair--it simply speaks to me!

Thursday, January 1, 2015

New Year's resolutions...

Vintage Barbie shelf

Do you have resolutions this year? I always try to make them, and end up not quite keeping them. This hasn't discouraged me so far, though.

We are finishing up a hectic week of rearranging the kids' rooms. I still have one bookshelf to sort through, and I'd like to go through my closet. The problem is, I feel like as soon as I donate my too-big clothing, I'll be setting myself up to regain all the weight I lost. But it's time to just buckle down and get it done. Along the same lines, I'm thinking of the doll clothes I own, and doing the same thing with them.

I'm playing with fewer dolls these days, simply because of time constraints. I have several BJDs to sell, plus I have a ton of vintage Barbie I don't enjoy like I used to. There isn't a rush, I suppose--but it would be nice to have the space. I'd like to be able to display each doll in a simple and uncluttered setting. Maybe that means pairing down a little (or more than a little).

Then... there's the Azone problem. I really got into Pure Neemo dolls this past year, and while they are cute, I have way too many! They lose their value once deboxed, of course. I haven't met another collector who'd be interested in the ones I have--well, save my friends Melissa and Megann. Plus, my daughter Lauren would kill me if I got rid of even one! The nice thing is that these dolls display really nicely, since they are only about 10" tall.

As far as conventions go--I'm registered for Grant A Wish, Barbie, and IFDC--though I should make sure I sent in the IFDC registration. I'm also planning to attend the Integrity Toys convention this year, as it's within driving distance. I was thinking of Tonner's Texas convention, but I think that's pushing it.

Finally, I'd like to finish the three books in progress I have this year. I am working on a rewrite/revision of Steffie: Out of the Box, which includes the latest dolls, some additional OOAK dolls, and will combine both prior volumes. Second, I'm getting very close to finishing Daphne: Out of the Box, which focuses on Effanbee's/Tonner's Daphne sculpt. I've realized I won't be able to include every Daphne made, as some are just too hard to find and much to pricey for me to justify for this project. I were still interested in hanging on to those taller dolls in my own collection, it would be worthwhile.

Finally, there's the biggest project: the next edition of Ball-Jointed Dolls for Beginners. I have a lot written, but it's just not coming together as easily as I'd like. I got stuck doing a new and improved database of BJD companies, and it's hard to keep on top of what is still around and which companies have gone under. Plus, I'm having problems with the book format, and I may need help this time around.

So, between all of these things and taking more photos of my dolls, I think I'm set!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...